💪💪I am going to do a ketogenic diet!!- Slight intro to Keto Diet – 

Okay so I am  WAAAAAYYY FAR from being an expert.  But that is sort of the point of me blogging about it.  The process of learning about how to do the Keto diet, from the very beginning as a total newbie!!

Oh, wait, one thing……

Just to be clear before people try sue me or some shit.

*PLEASE NOTE THAT WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN IS NOT MEDICAL ADVICE, I HAVE ONLY WRITTEN A SUMMARY OF WHAT I HAVE FOUND ONLINE, VIA SOME TRUSTED WEBSITES (MOST OF WHICH ARE LINKED).  IF YOU WISH TO DO A KETO DIET THEN ITS RECOMMENDED SEEK MEDICAL ADVICE.

Right, now that’s out the way.  So, to start with I’ve found out using a lovely website HERE , what my Macronutrients (macros) is.  It’s basically the stuff that we use to fuel our bodies.

This reddit thingy is amazing at having a full list of FAQs. I’ll summarise it kinda below.

FAT. PROTEIN and CARBS

Carbs, they are very limited on a Keto diet, usually below 20g per day!!

Protein, is eaten in adequate proportions

FAT is the majority of your calories.  This is the bit that’s hard to accept, I CAN EAT fatty stuff?? And lose weight??? You wut m8?

RIGHT THEN

So my results from the above calculator thingy were as follows:

27/F/5’5″  | 70% BF(I did a rough guess) | Mostly sedentary (Let’s not try fool anybody)

* 2300 kcal Goal, a 16% deficit. (770 min, 2730 max) – So i basically eat 16% less calories in order to lose weight…. I think

* 25g Carbohydrates .. usually the target is 20, but I guess it’s more as I am so big? I’ll probs aim for 20 to be safe

* 100g Protein (70g min, 115g max) I LOVE MEAT

* 200g Fat (30g min, 247g max)  Bring on the bacon, and skin ON chicken and CHEESE, mmmm …. okay you get the idea.

OKAY so the next bit is like me fooling around with the deficit thingy, if you mess around on the calculator, you can work out what works best for you. For example of differences below, for my calculations.

If you stick to 20g of carbs, 90g protein, and 200g fat, you will eat 2240kcal and lose 1.9kg (4.1lbs) in the first month

If you stick to 25g of carbs, 72g protein, and 217g fat, you will eat 2342kcal and lose 2.8kg (6.2lbs) in the first month.

I guess I will decide which to stick with when I start the diet and get more of an idea which foods I will eat more of, but we shall see, and I will keep a record of what works for me!

Ooookay, so that seems simple enough. Right?  But when thinking of it actual food terms I am just not able to comprehend what that means yet.  In terms of how much of each kind of food I can have.

There will be a lot of label reading for a while, I’ll put things I try into an excel spreadsheet (those who know me know just how much I bloody love an excel spreadsheet).

I will have to weight how much of each macro component I am using to make sure I stick to the recommended intake.  *remembers to buy scales* – you have to be pretty accurate, its amazing how much a ‘oh just 1 can of coke’ can cost you in macros!! – it’s 35g of carbs, in ONE CAN OF COKE. You’d be stuffed just with that, so you really need to be careful in order to stay in ketosis.

SO what exactly is ketosis?

Ketosis begins when liver glycogen is depleted, and the amount of glycogen in the liver only provides enough glucose for 12-16 hours. So when you limit carbs to 20 grams, it takes usually 24 hours ish to enter ketosis.

Ketosis is normal and its when your body doesn’t have enough carbs to burn for energy, so it burns fat instead.  Ketones are made when the body breaks down the fat for energy.

There are several signs that you’re in ‘ketosis’ but you can also just pee on a stick and that’ll tell you the level of ketones in your body ….. but more on that another day!!

 

Lots of love

JSC

x

Leave a Reply

